Summon The Heroes – The Boston Pops Orchestra, May 5, 2020

The Boston Pops Orchestra, under the direction of Keith Lockhart, performs a musical video tribute, Summon the Heroes—featuring the work originally composed by John Williams for the 1996 Olympic Games—as a tribute to today’s first responders who are providing critical and needed services during the Covid-19 epidemic. John Williams joins the virtual tribute with a musical and spoken introduction taped from his home studio in Los Angeles. The Boston Pops musicians themselves conceived of the idea of a “virtual orchestra” rendition of Summon the Heroes as the perfect piece of music to honor Covid-19 front line and essential workers. Nearly 80 musicians recorded their individual parts in their basement, kitchen, living room, or bedroom! John Williams wrote Summon the Heroes for the 1996 Olympic Games, marking the 100th anniversary of the modern Olympic Games. Dedicated to the Boston Pops principal trumpet at the time, Tim Morrison, the work was also recorded by the Boston Pops as part of a CD of the same name. BSO Recording Engineer Nick Squire and Video Engineer Brandon Cardley, working from their homes, edited the audio and video from 86 individually submitted video files to create the musicians’ gift to all who are giving so much of themselves during this time. This performance is sponsored by the New Balance Foundation. Participating musicians of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Boston Pops Orchestra –First Violins– Alexander Velinzon – Associate Concertmaster – BSO & BPO Elita Kang – Assistant Concertmaster – BSO & BPO Yuncong Zhang Lucia Lin Bo Youp Hwang Jennie Shames Tatiana Dimitriades Wendy Putnam Glen Cherry Lisa Ji Eun Kim –Second Violins– Julianne Lee – Assistant Principal – BSO/Principal – BPO Sheila Fiekowsky Nicole Monahan Bonnie Bewick James Cooke Victor Romanul Catherine French Jason Horowitz Ala Jojatu Bracha Malkin –Violas– Steven Ansell – Principal – BSO Cathy Basrak – Assistant Principal – BSO/ Principal – BPO Danny Kim Rebecca Gitter Rachel Fagerburg Daniel Getz Rebekah Edewards Kathryn Sievers Mary Ferrillo Steven O. Laraia –Cellos– Blaise Déjardin – Principal – BSO Oliver Aldort – Assistant Principal – BSO/ Principal – BPO Mihail Jojatu Martha Babcock Owen Young Mickey Katz Alexandre Lecarme Adam Esbensen –Basses– Edwin Barker – Principal – BSO Lawrence Wolfe – Assistant Principal – BSO/ Principal – BPO Dennis Roy Joseph Hearne Todd Seeber John Stovall Thomas Van Dyck Carl Anderson –Flutes– Elizabeth Ostling – Associate Principal – BSO/ Principal – BPO Clint Foreman –Piccolo– Cynthia Meyers –Oboes– John Ferrillo – Principal – BSO Mark McEwen –English Horn– Robert Sheena –Clarinets– William R. Hudgins – Principal – BSO Michael Wayne Thomas Martin – Associate Principal & E-flat clarinet – BSO/Principal – BPO –Bassoons– Richard Ranti – Associate Principal – BSO/Principal – BPO Suzanne Nelsen –Contrabassoon– Gregg Henegar –Horns– James Sommerville – Principal – BSO Richard Sebring – Associate Principal – BSO/Principal – BPO Rachel Childers Michael Winter Jason Snider –Trumpets– Thomas Rolfs – Soloist and Principal – BSO & BPO Benjamin Wright Thomas Siders – Associate Principal – BSO & BPO Michael Martin –Trombones– Toby Oft – Principal – BSO & BPO Stephen Lange –Bass Trombone– James Markey –Tuba– Mike Roylance – Principal – BSO & BPO –Timpani– Timothy Genis –Percussion– J. William Hudgins Daniel Bauch – Assistant Timpanist Kyle Brightwell Matthew McKay –Harp– Jessica Zhou – Principal – BSO & BPO Follow us on all of our social channels! Facebook: Instagram: @bostonsymphony Twitter: @BostonSymphony Find many more online musical resources like this one at and….

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?